EducationPlus Logo Banner

For Immediate Release

Contact: Christine McDonald


EducationPlus Kicks off the 34th Annual METC Conference

Today, EducationPlus kicks off its 34th Annual Midwest Educational Technology (METC) Conference at the St. Charles Convention Center. Pre-conference activities start today and the conference will conclude Wednesday, February 15.

The METC Conference is the largest educational technology conference for PreK – 20 educators in Missouri. Presenters and attendees from more than twenty-two states attend each year to interact with experts in the field, learn from neighboring schools and share best practices.

Highlights of the conference include:

  • Keynote Speaker – Dave Burgess, Author, Teach Like a Pirate
  • Keynote Speaker – Jennie Magiera, Author, Courageous Edventures
  • Featured Speaker – Hall Davidson, Discovery Education
  • Featured Speaker – Christina Garcia, Primary Elementary Teacher & Google Certified Trainer
  • Featured Speaker – Joquetta Johnson, HS Library Media Specialist & Google Certified Teacher
  • Featured Speaker – Eric Patnoudes, CDW-G Education Strategist

“Issues in Education”, a roundtable discussion with education leaders, will broadcast live from the METC Conference on Tuesday, February 14 from 10:00 a.m. – noon. “Issues on Education” broadcasts on The Big 550 KTRS Radio and will include several panel discussions with local superintendents, students and leaders in education technology.

Each year the conference honors METC Spotlight Educators. These honored educators are leaders from the region, whose practices are making a difference for their students, staff and community.  In addition to being honored at the conference, each Spotlight Educator will also be presenting sessions during the conference.

This year the 2017 METC Spotlight Educators who applied, or were nominated by their peers include:

  • Shelby Bailey, Warren County R-III, Warrenton, MO
  • Kami Butterfield, Baxter Springs School District, Baxter Springs, KS
  • Kim Darche, Lemont-Bromberek Combined School District 113A, Lemont, IL
  • Kelly Hauquitz, Francis Howell School District, St. Charles, MO
  • Andrea Head, Francis Howell School District, St. Charles, MO
  • Debbie Fucoloro, St. Margaret Mary Alacoque School, St. Louis, MO
  • Dustin Jenkerson, Columbia Public Schools, Columbia, MO
  • Mary Kienstra, Naperville 203 Community Unit School District, Naperville, IL
  • JP Prezzavento, Fox C-6 School District, Arnold, MO
  • Shannon Steimel, Lift for Life Academy, St. Louis, MO
  • Kara Welty, Independence School District, Independence, MO

For additional information about this conference visit or contact Christine McDonald, EducationPlus Director of Communications, at 314.692.1233 or