, ,


CharacterPlus® Leads the U.S. in National Schools of Character

Character.org has recognized 68 schools and four school districts as 2016 National Schools of Character. Missouri again leads the nation with 15 National Schools of Character, all of Missouri’s honored schools and one from Illinois are members of CharacterPlus®, a resource of EducationPlus®. More than 20% of all National Schools of Character this year are members of CharacterPlus.

“We congratulate these schools that have worked hard with the help of CharacterPlus to develop positive character in their students,” said Dr. Julie Sperry, Executive Director of CharacterPlus. “To achieve this honor, schools must go through a rigorous evaluation process and prove that character education has had a positive impact on academics and student behavior.”

All of the schools selected as National Schools of Character have demonstrated a dedicated focus on character development programs. Schools and districts selected in January as State Schools of Character along with those schools who reapplied in their 3-year designation of State School of Character were forwarded to Character.org for consideration for national recognition as National Schools of Character. The local winners include:

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School (Belleville District 118)

Barretts Elementary School (Parkway Schools)

*Bayless Elementary School (Bayless School District)

Bayless School District

*Bowles Elementary School (Rockwood School District)

Busch Middle School of Character (St. Louis Public Schools)

Craig Elementary School (Parkway Schools)

Don Earl Early Childhood Center (Fox C-6 School District)

*Geggie Elementary School (Rockwood School District)

John Cary Early Childhood Center (Mehlville School District)

*Lincoln Elementary School (Lincoln County School District)

Nottingham Community Access and Job Training High School (St. Louis Public Schools)

*Rockwood School District

Sappington Elementary School (Lindbergh Schools)

*Uthoff Valley Elementary School (Rockwood School District)

*Valley Park Middle School (Valley Park School District)

*Woerner Elementary School (St. Louis Public Schools)

Woerther Elementary School (Rockwood School District)

*Notes a school/district who has received the designation for a second time.

The Schools of Character application process provides an opportunity for schools to receive feedback as well as recognition for growth and excellence in the area of character education as measured by Character.org’s 11 Principles of Effective Character Education framework. National Schools of Character are schools (public, private, charter), early childhood through high school, and districts that have demonstrated through a detailed evaluation process that character education has had a positive impact on academics, student behavior, and school climate. The designated schools earn the right to use the National School of Character name and logo for 5 years.

“We are extremely proud of this year’s designated schools and districts for their dedication to character development which has proven to increase the well-being of so many students’ lives across the United States and beyond,” said Becky Sipos, Character.org’s President & CEO. “These character initiatives create conditions for learning where students are thriving and growing into ethical members of our society. They are developing lifelong skillsets they will leverage well into their adult lives.”

CharacterPlus is a resource of St. Louis-based EducationPlus. Focusing on “Academic Success through Character Development,” CharacterPlus helps develop character within young people in and outside the classroom. CharacterPlus programs help students see that they can demonstrate good character throughout their daily lives. To learn more visit www.characterplus.org.