, , , , ,

More than 4,200 teachers have been recognized since 1983 for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession by The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Eight of the newest awardees are Missouri teachers who were selected as state finalists for the PAEMST. This network of award-winning teachers serves as a resource for improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and keeping America globally competitive.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

State finalists in mathematics are:

    • Ruth Knop, high school mathematics teacher, Parkway West High School, Parkway C-2 School District
    • Melissa Livengood, high school mathematics teacher, Grain Valley High School, Grain Valley R-V School District
    • Karen Smith, high school mathematics teacher, Truman High School, Independence 30 School District
    • Lane Walker, high school mathematics teacher, Francis Howell High School, Francis Howell R-III School District

State finalists in science are:

    • Kathleen Dwyer, high school science teacher, Maplewood-Richmond Heights High School, Maplewood-Richmond Heights School District
    • Autumn Palmer, high school science teacher, Carthage High School, Carthage R-IX School District
    • Carol Robertson, high school science teacher, Fulton Senior High School, Fulton 58 School District
    • Christy Straatmann, middle school science teacher, Valley Park Middle School, Valley Park School District

Winners are selected by a panel of scientists, mathematicians and educators following the initial selection process done at the state level. Each year, the award alternates between educators teaching kindergarten through 6th grades and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. Congratulations to these Missouri educators, their school districts, and their students. Learn more about the program at https://www.paemst.org; to see all of the Missouri educators who have received this award since 1983, click here.