, , , , , ,

Last week, the Character Education Partnership (CEP) selected 29 schools nationwide to be recognized as a National School of Character. All nine of Missouri’s honored schools participate in CHARACTERplus® and represent the most by any one state to receive this recognition, according to Liz Gibbons, director of St. Louis-based CHARACTERplus®. Congratulations to:

Francis Howell School District – Independence Elementary School
Jefferson City Public Schools – Jefferson City Academic Center
Mehlville School District – Beasley Elementary School, Bierbaum Elementary School, Hagemann Elementary School, Mehlville High School
Rockwood School District – Chesterfield Elementary School, LaSalle Springs Middle School
Wentzville School District- Discovery Ridge Elementary School

“These schools have demonstrated outstanding achievement with the CHARACTERplus program and their recognition by  CEP is well deserved,”

– CHARACTERplus Director Liz Gibbons.

National Schools of Character demonstrate significant increases in academics (increasing or high test scores), behavior (reduction in disciplinary actions) and climate (survey results show students feel safe and respected). All of the schools have created caring, supportive school communities that meet the needs of students.

CHARACTERplus® is a service of Cooperating School Districts and paves the way for character education customized for each school.  “This is a great milestone as we mark the 25th anniversary of CHARACTERplus,” said Don Senti, CSD Executive Director.  “We are very pleased to congratulate these outstanding schools and we look forward to continued growth in our achievements over the next 25 years.”

CHARACTERplus was conceived by Sanford N. McDonnell to advance the cause of character education and sustain its impact on the lives of teachers and students. CHARACTERplus works with schools and districts across several states. For more information visit www.characterplus.org.