, , , , , ,

According to the Character Education Partnership (CEP), “National Schools of Character are schools and districts that have demonstrated through a rigorous evaluation process that character development has had a positive impact on academics, student behavior, and school climate. They are now expected to serve as models for other schools, helping them to achieve the same results. They [hold] the distinction of a National School of Character for 5 years.”

Seven area public schools are winners of the 2012 National School of Character Award; nationally, only 25 schools/districts received this distinction. All of the area schools that received this recognition are members of CHARACTERplus (six are from Missouri, and one is from Illinois). To see a video of the ceremony, click here.

Missouri’s National Schools of Character at the annual CEP Forum in Washington, D.C.

Cooperating School Districts and CHARACTERplus congratulate:

  • Henry Raab Elementary– Belleville #118 (IL)
  • Brentwood Middle– Brentwood (MO)
  • Plattin Primary– Jefferson R-7 (MO)
  • Ross Elementary– Parkway (MO)
  • Trautwein Elementary– Mehlville (MO)
  • Ellisville Elementary– Rockwood (MO)
  • Northview High School– Special School District (MO)

Schools and districts apply for a National Schools of Character award when they feel they have achieved a standard of excellence and are ready to be a leader among their peers. The State Schools of Character Award is prerequisite to CEP’s National School of Character Award. The State Schools of Character Award has a tri-fold purpose:

  • To identify exemplary schools and districts to serve as models for others by sharing best practices.
  • To help schools and districts improve their efforts in effective character education.
  •  To develop a state-level mentoring network among educators.

For questions about recognitions for State Schools of Character and/or National Schools of Character, please contact Suzy Ward.