Gateway2Change Student Summits on Race


For Immediate Release
Contact: Christine McDonald

Gateway2Change kicks-off Student Summits on Race

(November 12, 2018) St. Louis, MO… On Tuesday, November 13, Gateway2Change will host their first Student Summit on Race of the 2018-19 school year with more than 140 high school students representing 24 area high schools. The summit is at Emerson World Headquarters (8000 West Florissant Avenue) from 8:30 a.m. until 1:30 p.m

CharacterPlus is proud to partner with The National Conference for Community and Justice of Metropolitan St. Louis (NCCJ St. Louis)to create an experiential deep dive into the cultural competency continuum.

The summit consists of multiple experiential activities over several sessions to grow a deeper understanding of oppression and privilege. This process requires smaller student teams and trained small group facilitators creating an authentic and relevant experience that will inspire students to be true change agents within their school and community.

Throughout this process, as students become more aware of their environment, they will create a photovoice project that portrays their school community. Each school’s “Show us Your World” project will be presented at the final summit on March 1.

Gateway2Change was created after the tragic events unfolded in Ferguson as a unique approach to help young people have courageous conversations about the racial divide in St. Louis and then create a plan to affect positive change. CharacterPlus, a resource of EducationPlus, is leading the efforts to coordinate the Gateway2Change movement.

Gateway2Change and the Student Summits on Race are supported in part by Emerson. For more information visit www.g2cplus.orgor contact Christine McDonald, EducationPlus Director of Communications, at 314.692.1233 or